Candidates for Atoka alderman gather for a group photo on Election Day.

In Atoka, longtime alderman Brett Giannini and three newcomers won election to the board of mayor and aldermen.

Giannini, who was first elected in 2008 and is both a Memphis police officer and a National Guardsman, won 26.97 percent of votes (2,093).

Christy Renfrow and Cody Pace, both of whom ran for alderman in 2018, were also elected.


Renfrow earned 1,407 votes (18.13 percent) and Pace earned 1,163 (14.99 percent).

In fourth was Penny Pace, a former Town of Atoka employee, with 1,089 votes (14.03 percent). Jeremy Lightsey earned 1,010 votes (13.01 percent) and incumbent Gaetano “Guy” Critelli earned 961 votes (12.38 percent). Critelli has served the remainder of Darry Marshall’s unexpired term following Marshall’s move out of state.

Incumbent Walker Adams, who is a county commissioner, did not run for re-election.

John Harber, Danny Feldmayer and Barry Akin are the other members of the board and Daryl Walker is Atoka’s mayor.

Echo Day
Author: Echo Day

Echo Day is an award-winning journalist, photographer and designer. She is currently The Leader's managing editor.