• Covington's Hailey Landers in the region meet.

Multiple cross country runners from Tipton County high schools fared well at Tuesday’s region meet in Alamo and punched their tickets for the state meet Nov. 2 in Nashville.

The Munford girls’ team – Morgan Mitchell, Brianna Delgado, Lexus Maxwell, Linda Giffing, Ionna Dunlap, Rebekah Callahan and Noa Mirantes-Santos – finished second and qualified for state for the first time in program history.

Covington’s boys’ team, led by a ninth-place finish by San’Darius Coleman, finished third and qualified for state as well. Members of the team are Coleman, Otto Williams, Owen Griffin, Justice Mack, Jaylen Denmark, Caden Griffin, Cayden Owen, DeAngelo Yarbrough and Elisha Seger.


Two Covington girls – Hailey Landers and Na’Kya Gilliam – qualified as individuals. Landers finished third with a time of 21:22 and Gilliam was sixth at 21:29.

Brighton’s Brie Howard made the state meet by finishing 10th with a time of 21:54.

In another meet:

A cool, sunny October afternoon and an excellent track for cross country competition at Nancy Lane Park in Munford provided the venue for the Chargers’ cross country teams to turn in one of their best performances of the year at the Cougar Invitational on Oct. 15.

After missing two weeks due to a soccer injury, Hailey Landers returned to the team in fine fashion, taking second place overall in a field of 28.

She was followed by Na’Kya Gilliam (fifth place), Anna Reese Cousar (13th) Alexandra Barrell (19th) and Sarah Grisham. The top 20 finishers each earned individual medals and the team took the second place trophy for their efforts.

The boys’ team did them one better, garnering the first-place team trophy. Over half the team earned top 20 medals.

Otto Williams was second overall and was joined by San’Darius Coleman (third), Owen Griffin (sixth) and Justice Mack (eighth), Jaylen Denmark (10th) and Cayden Griffin (13th). Also running for CHS were Elisha Segars (22:32), James Evan Roane (22:40), Cayden Owen (25:29), Arimus Sanders (25:37) and DeAngelo Yarbrough (25:44).

Steve Holt contributed to this story.

Jeff Ireland
Author: Jeff Ireland