There were no surprises when it came to the elections of Tennessee’s legislators.

Republican Bill Hagerty of Nashville handily won the U.S. Senate seat with 75.04 percent of votes (19,546). Democrat Marquita Bradshaw of Memphis, whose nomination over James Mackler in the primary was considered an upset, earned 5,779 votes (22.19 percent).


Hagerty, the only Trump-backed candidate, won Tennessee with 1.8 million votes. In January he will replace longtime U.S. Senator, and former governor, Lamar Alexander who did not run for re-election.

U.S. House – District 8 

Congressman David Kustoff (R-Memphis) won his third straight election with 75.72 percent of votes (19,597). His opponent, Erika Stotts Pearson (D-Memphis), earned 22.27 percent of votes (5,764).

Tennessee Senate District 32

Senator Paul Rose (R-Covington) won another bid for re-election, beating Collierville attorney Julie Byrd-Ashworth, formerly of Munford, 19,573 to 5,558.

This district also encompasses parts of Shelby County.

Tennessee House – District 81

Debra Moody (R-Covington), who has held this office since 2012, ran unopposed.

Echo Day
Author: Echo Day

Echo Day is an award-winning journalist, photographer and designer. She is currently The Leader's managing editor.