Early and absentee voters officially broke 2008’s record for turnout Tuesday, the Tennessee Secretary of State Tre Hargett reported.

By the close of business Wednesday, 20,238 people had already voted in Tipton County. The previous record was 17,554.

Statewide, turnout through the first 10 days of early voting increased more than 40 percent over the same period in 2016.

Advertisement

“We have seen high turnout numbers during early voting, and I urge Tennesseans to take advantage of these final days of early voting,” said Hargett.

Tipton County has 39,243 registered voters, meaning turnout is already 51.5 percent for this election with one day of early voting and election day to go. Voter turnout in 2008 was 66.8 percent.

The busiest day so far was on Thursday, Oct. 22, when 1,885 people voted in person. Here’s a breakdown of how many people have voted each day in Tipton County:

Wednesday, Oct. 14: 1,719

Thursday, Oct. 15: 1,610

Friday, Oct. 16: 1,403

Saturday, Oct. 17: 1,053

Sunday, Oct. 18: 1,584

Monday, Oct. 19: 1,584

Tuesday Oct. 20: 1,741

Wednesday, Oct. 21: 1,535

Thursday, Oct. 22: 1,991

Friday, Oct. 23: 1,800

Saturday, Oct. 24: 1,056

Monday, Oct. 27: 1,622

Tuesday, Oct. 28: 1,579

Wednesday, Oct. 29: 1,541

Today is the last day for early voting. The polls will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.