Welcome, Visitor!
Today is Monday, May 2, 2016

Buddy Bibb nominated as a top superintendant

Comment   Email   Print
Related Articles

In a unanimous decision by his peers in the SouthWest Region on June 12, Dr. William E. Bibb was selected to be the SW District Superintendent of the Year nominee. Following a detailed information gathering process, the state department of education will eventually choose a nominee from one of Tennessee’s systems to be named as the Tennessee Superintendent of the Year. 

John Combs, Director of Instruction for Tipton County Schools, said, “We are incredibly proud to work for Dr. Bibb. Not only does he have a heart grounded in student learning, he also leads by example - both as an active member of the community and a parent of two Tipton County School graduates. I can't think of anyone more deserving of this honor.”

Dr. Bibb is currently in his 36th year as a Tipton County educator and in his fourth year as superintendent. 

He has served in a number of capacities within the school system prior to his current role: assistant superintendent/director of instruction 1997-2011; Munford Elementary principal 1992-1997; Brighton Elementary assistant principal 1989-1992; and Brighton Elementary teacher/coach/athletic director 1979-1989. He has also held office in numerous professional organizations including the West Tennessee STEM governing board, Southwest Tennessee Regional Education Cooperative, Tennessee Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, and  the Southwest Tennessee Supervisors’ Study Council. Dr. Bibb was also a recent inductee into the University of Memphis College of Education Hall of Fame (2013). 

Dr. Bibb is also an adjunct professor in the Department of Leadership at the University of Memphis.

As a native resident of Tipton County, he was born in Munford, and, after attending Munford public schools, graduated from Munford High School in 1975. 

His service is to this county has also extended beyond the bounds of education. Dr. Bibb has also served as a Tipton County Commissioner 1982-2011, and a board member for the Tipton County Literacy Council 1997-2011, Munford Library Board 1996-2011, and the Tipton County Library Board 2010-2011.

Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: